In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, all over the world, the topic of the development of shopping is omnipresent. While some people think the advantages of large shopping centres exist, other people think there are disadvantages of closing small local shops. From my point of view, I think both perspectives are valid for the reasons discussed below. On the one hand, as far as travel to large shopping centres or malls is concerned, firstly, to a large extent, especially in modern times, no matter where in the world you live, when you do shopping in large centres, you can easily find whatever you want due to the fact that a lot of shops are present, resulting in having the choice of products. For example, in malls, you could have many clothes shops, and you can easily swap between shops to find the better items. In addition, and most importantly in recent years, you might win time on account of the fact that every shop is in the same area. On the other hand, there are disadvantages of closing small local shops. First and foremost, by and large, you could contribute to small cities delocalization owing to the fact that you encouraging big companies, resulting in the closing of small shops in small areas. Secondly, at least to some degree, when you prefer big centres as small shops, you cannot support your neighbourhood and your local community. For example, the local butcher who sponsors your football team, cannot continue to support them due to the fact that he cannot earn more money, due to the reasons that you didn’t continue buying in his shop. In conclusion, while some people think the advantages of malls for shopping, others say there are disadvantages of closing the small local shops. However, in my opinion, both perspectives have value for the above-mentioned reasons