Nowadays there is a shortage of housing which has given rise to several social consequences. It is only the government who can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Shortage of housing has been a problem of the modern world for a while now and it has led to multiple serious problems in our society. Many argue that, it is the government's responsibility to find a solution to this problem while others believe people and also, third party companies could play an important role. I totally agree with the former opinion. Because, housing is a part of every government's job and indeed, they have enough tools to solve this problem. Furthermore, I do not think people have enough resources or enough permission to deal with this problem. Firstly, the major policies imposed by governments are the forces behind peoples' actions and therefore, people's difficulties are of government's concern. Different countries usually have a whole department specific for this cause and moreover, their job is to build just enough houses for the people and to prevent housing from becoming a crisis. For instance, Iran's housing secretary has promised the construction of thousands of houses for the homeless people of Tehran, the capital of Iran. So, it is a pretty big deal for every government to solve the shortage of houses in every country. On the other hand, some folk want to hold the people accountable for this problem as if they have enough power to solve this riddle. Few people are able to build themselves houses and others can barely afford to rent houses. Also, it is not a profitable business for the rich to build houses for the poor. Furthermore, the third-party companies might not be able to proceed with the paperwork necessary because of all of the laws imposed on housing matters. For instance, it takes about one year for any company to get permission to start their construction. Hence, not people nor third parties can easily get involved with this problem and help the government along the way. To conclude, the shortage of housing could be a serious crisis in any modern society. With enough resource and will, the government are going to be essential to finding a solution. Although the people and the various construction companies might have the intention to get involved with it, they usually don't have enough resources and it could be a waste of money and energy without actually getting anything done.