Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is an argument whether government should invest in the well being of its people rather than pay for athletes' training. I partly agree with this. On the one hand, an athlete's achievement is one thing that gives some satisfaction to the nation to which the athlete belongs. Monies generated by these sports personnel are huge and mostly belongs to an individual. Meanwhile, there's an added benefit that comes with winning a game which is recognition of the country to which the athlete belongs. The authority of that country takes some pride in contributing to the success of a member. Hence, I can understand why the state rulers channel some funds to support those folks. People may argue that some partakers of those games are mostly born with such talents. I am of the view that despite that, it is still necessary for them to sharpen their skills to make them competitive globally and it only makes sense the law makers fund their training. On the other hand, it is essential for government to fund projects that promote the health of its people. This can be achieved through creating health awareness and instituting preventative methods to diseases such as education on good hygiene practices, healthy eating habits and regular fitness checks. These can be achieved through the media houses. Also, establishing fitness clubs and gyms where people can go exercise will be helpful. The importance of these cannot be overemphasized because folks need to be fit to work. Unwell persons will spend valuable working time at the hospital seeking healthcare to enable them get better. There is a popular saying that goes like ' a healthy nation is a wealthy nation'. As already mentioned, a sound mind is required to achieve various tasks. Therefore, the need to invest in the health of the masses cannot be overemphasized. To sum up, it is clear that government funding training for talented sportsmen is as equally important as investing in tge health of the population. I agree to the two way money spending by the government.