In the future, all cars buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, many transportations will be operated without a driver, therefore only passengers who will be in the vehicle. I personally believe that a vehicle with a driver has more benefit because of the safety for us to use the transportation. Driverless cars are often applauded as advanced and more reliable transportation modes. When discussing driving safety, more human drivers might be involved in the breaking of laws and cause harms for other road users. To illustrate, over 80% of car crashes in the US are caused by driver error. On the other hand, automated cars will strictly follow the rules and the road signals thus there is a higher chance that it could significantly improve the safety and reduce casualties on the road. On top of that, people could use their time for more productive activities instead of spending hours behind the wheel. They also could avoid driver fatigue and be more relaxed during their trip. For example, many workers feel exhausted after long drives when they arrive at their workplace. Therefore, they are usually not able to function properly and are less productive. Discussing some possible drawbacks, the most common concerns will be related to safety issues and casualties that might occur. Since driverless cars will be heavily reliant on technology, if there is any unpredictable malfunction in the software or system controlling the vehicles, it could cause devastating accidents. To exemplify, in 2021 several car crashes were reported in California due to malfunctions in the system of autonomous vehicles. As reported, those involved in the car crashes sustained injuries. Not to mention that not all roads are suitable for automated cars to run smoothly, particularly in developing nations that might have a lot of holes and insufficient road signals. As a result, these might create a lot of legal dilemmas when a car crash happens due to poor public infrastructures since the regulator perhaps could not entirely blame the car owner. Moreover, once people get more accustomed to self-driving cars, they might lose their proficiency in driving. In case of an emergency that might require the car owner to drive manually, for instance, if the cars could not read the road signals, it can cause serious problems. In conclusion, the transportation with driverless has more disadvantages due to some perspectives and for some people it is less secure. In my opinion, safety is the most important thing for people to use a vehicle.