An increasing number of people want to buy clothes, shoes and other items produced by famous international brands. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development.

Today’s world is growing at a faster pace with technology that is eradicating international barriers. Today, any product can be purchased and shipped to your doorstep. In my opinion, this has a negative effect on the overall development of the country. To begin with, today the majority of commodities are purchased from high-end brands that promise better quality and longer durability of their product. As the majority of commodities are nowadays being purchased from international brands, it kills the employment opportunities for the local residents and brands as well.Despite the manufacturers are trying their best to retain their customers, yet, they have failed. This has resulted in the downfall of the Gross Income of the nation. For instance, the latest study conducted in India, states that approximately about 78% of handbag industries in India have shut down their manufacturing and export as the demand for their local product has drastically fallen down. Furthermore, another reason for the surge in foreign products and commodities is that people are now purchasing more of these products to show off their well-being. Branded items indirectly reflect an individual's wealth status hence, the poor remain poor and the rich get richer. For example, according to the Income Tax department, about 56% of lower-incomeincome groups have lost jobs due to the high demand for foreign goods, ultimately resulting in lower income. To sum it up, I suggest that high-end commodities like handbags, clothes and footwear shall be purchased within the home country, giving an opportunity for the economy and its citizens a chance to develop.