Do you agree that the economic progress is the only factor that can be used to measure a country's success?

The financial improvement in a nation is the common parameter to measure its performance. Some of the metrics are the debt ratio, the Gross Domestic Product (GDP), and the inflation rate. Although it is an essential quality, I don't agree that economic progress is the only measurement to determine a country's thrive. First of all, let's talk about the debt ratio. The nation must spend or even take loans in order to build its infrastructure, public facilities, and social services. If one country only seeks to press down its liabilities, it won't have enough investment to improve the nation's condition. In Indonesia for example, our ministry of finance was once bullied due to a dramatic surge in the nation's debt. However, Indonesia has been growing so rapidly during her era that she has been acknowledged by her counterparts around the world. Secondly, let's talk about the GDP or the nation's income. There are many components that create the nation's revenue namely consumptions, taxes, and exports. Rather than being focused on its final numbers, the nation should also concentrate on making sure its source of income is healthy for its people. To illustrate this, the majority of the developing nations are being extracted by the developed countries in terms of natural resources and manual labour. The government should make an attempt to educate their workforce to be able to manufacture final products and export them to developed countries instead. On the other hand, the economic parameter is still important to be monitored in order to evaluate the responsible government representatives. Besides, the financial progress should also be watched on a long-term basis because of the lagging impact of any decision being executed. After all, other metrics like the population's welfare, life expectancy, and living quality must be improved as well. To conclude, it is undeniable that economic progress is one way to measure a country's success. Yet, to fulfil its need to spend and invest in its people and earning sources, I firmly disagree that financial improvement is the only thing that matters.