Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? It is true that a noticeable number of children tend to spend long hours on their phones. Although smartphones and technology can bring enjoyment and fun to children, I strongly believe that the cons of overusing smartphones outweigh the pros. Spending lots of time on smartphones can easily become an addiction for two main reasons. Firstly, the current generation was born in an environment where technological devices are omnipresent and ubiquitous,and because of this reason, it is relatively inevitable for children to avoid using them. Additionally, lots of tasks and duties are done by technological devices. For example, most classes, lessons, and exams are held online these days. Secondly, online games are so attractive to children, and they tend to spend more hours playing online rather than having outdoor activities, enabling them to play with children in different corners of the world, which might be found very interesting by children. On the other hand, while smartphones and certain applications are both educational and enjoyable, they can profoundly harm younger people in many ways. One is that, technological productions can make children less social, and the more they spend time online on their phones, the less they tend to interact with people from their immediate surroundings. Finally, they may end up cutting themselves off from the real world. As a result, their everyday reality is gradually becoming destructed by the virtual world. Furthermore, advances in technology can negatively affect children ’s behaviour and actions. For example, studies have shown that children who are exposed to violent online games and videos on the internet have a higher tendency to act aggressively against other children. In conclusion, the ubiquity of smartphones has resulted in children spending more hours onscreen which has led to the emergence of many problems in children.