Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

It is of concern whether or not the national authorities should fund good road systems or rather spend on establishing a well running public transport system. To begin with, a good road network saves time to the road - users. It mostly eliminates traffic and makes workers and students reach their destination on time. To illustrate this, when moving on untarred roads, the regular drivers who use such roads take their time to protect their vehicles from damages. By so doing, a journey expected to take 20 minutes by the estimated distance is covered in hours. For example, inhabitants of Sokoban spend several hours on the road when going to the town-square due to the poor nature of their roads which is only 50 kilometres from town. Huge traffic jams are commonly observed at most hours of the day on the Sokoban stretch owing to careful driving on these bad roads. Meanwhile, natives of Santasi with feeder roads cover the same distance in 20 minutes to reach town. It is clear that the benefits of a good road cannot be overemphasized, hence I lean for authorities investing funds into constructing good road systems to save time. On the other hand, commercial means of transports such as buses, trains and subways should also be improved by the government to make patronising their services attractive. The first advantage of this is fewer vehicles on our roads. Most private owners will use public transports with good services. By so doing, traffic will be reduced on our roads. Also, the problem with global warming will also be tackled somehow as fewer vehicles means reduced toxic fumes from cars into the atmosphere. In a nut shell, these reasons makes it evident why it is necessary for lawmakers to channel some amounts in maintaining public transport systems. To sum up, government spending should include both making good roads and building a well functioning public transport system.