In many countries, young children are looked after by other people while parents go out to work. Is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Nowadays, It is true that young children are looked after by someone else when their parents are working. Although this trend can be a negative development because parents should take care of their offspring by themselves, the main benefits are not only for parents who work full time but also for children themselves. To start with one of the most important reasons why this is a positive development is that children are taken care of by professionals who have the knowledge and skills to develop children skills like basic vocal and social skills to prepare them to enter school because young children can learn how to play, share, respect other people who are not in their family. For example, 80% of year one students who were taken care of by professional kindergartens get along well with other peers or teachers when they go to schools compared to other students who were looked after by their parents or relatives. Having them in daycares plays a major role in developing children's skills at a young age which can be seen as an advantage. Another benefit is that young parents can continue their careers after their maternity leave. Having infants in daycares can be better for parents due to its convenience. For example, research conducted by Bangkok University, it was revealed that 80% of young parents in Thailand usually take 6 months of maternity leave and go back to work by putting their young children in blanket or infant care. So they can contribute to their careers without any worries. This is popular and plays an important role in this trend and many people think it is a positive trend. In conclusion, while parents go to work, children are looked after by children cares. I think there are a couple of benefits to this trend because of its convenience for parents, the skills and knowledge that children receive from their daycare.