In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

People have different opinions about one issue, such as if it is the duty of the government to fund old age homes or if it's one of the responsibilities that should be taken up by the family. I unequivocally agree with the opinion that the government plays a bigger role due to two reasons. The first reason is that not many can afford to hire nurses. And secondly, I believe that the taxes we pay should help with free healthcare for the elderly. In a country like India, where 40% of the population lives below the poverty line, even making ends meet would be a challenge. In such cases, people cannot afford to send their elderly to old age homes. Therefore, without the necessary proper care, survival for them would become difficult. For example,a study published by the University of Texas in 2020, stated that people who join old age homes are happier which has thereby increased their life expectancy by a couple more years. Hence, as all lives matter the government should allocate money to building free old age homes. Moreover, the tax we pay for almost 30 years, must include the benefits of getting free healthcare after a particular age. The majority of people's work has helped the society and nation to progress, in addition to developing the country further. Therefore, the government must take additional steps to take good care of their citizens once they become old. In conclusion, the government should take requisite and pragmatic stances to allocate money to old age homes with well-trained nurses, as many deserve proper care during their final years.