Tourism cause more harm than good. Do you agree or disagree?

Tourism is one of the primary industries of many countries. However, it is said that the harm tourists cause to the local environment and the indigenous community is greater than the good they bring. I partly agree with the statement and will elaborate on the reasons in the following essay. First of all, tourism has a massive impact on the economy. A lucrative tourism sector attracts both local and international investment. Employment opportunities, therefore, are created, promoting conditions for people to earn a living. For example, many unemployed individuals sell handcrafts as souvenirs to travellers as a means to make ends meet. On the other hand, despite the benefits of tourism, it can put much pressure on the environment. Since the local government wants to develop the area as one of many tourist attractions, they have to cut down trees to expand land for hotels and resorts, leading to climate change, loss of natural habitat, and other harm to the local ecosystem. For instance, Da Lat was a favourite tourist destination for its cool and fresh temperature. However, since individuals are overexploiting the land for hotels, together with the fact that more and more people are travelling to Da Lat, it has been getting hotter, and many animals and birds have lost their place of living. In conclusion, despite certain merits of expanding tourism, the drawbacks are undeniable. Should the local government and local people want to promote tourism, they need to address the issue regarding the ecosystem and environment of the region.