Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The term “slashie”, which represents people who have more than one identity or occupation, has become a trend in recent years, as young people become more willing to embrace multiple jobs at the same time. Similarly, some university students want to take up electives on top of their majors, while others prioritize focusing on one subject. As the saying ” determination is key ”goes, many people believe that focusing on one goal is the road to success. To illustrate, many great inventions and discoveries by renowned scientists were only done because of their determination. Edison, the inventor of lightbulb, only succeeded because he did not give up even after years and years of failure, and was determined to solely work on light bulbs. Likewise, if university students want to achieve excellence, they would have to give all their time and attention to one subject in the university and make the best use of the four years. Still, a number of younger generations are drawn to the idea of taking up electives, or even double degrees, as people are required to be well-rounded in this era for employment. As the education level of people around the world improves, job competition has become harsher than ever. Candidates have to show their irreplaceability to be hired, and being knowledgeable on more than one subject is one way to stand out. For instance, if a job applicant has both a business and law degree, he or she would have better chances at employment than one that only has a business degree, as this not only proves their time management skills to complete two degrees in the same amount of time, but also brings greater value to the enterprise. To conclude, although it is undeniable that multitasking allows less time for each task or subject, which can mean worse results, learning more than one subject is indeed the leading trend nowadays, which I believe is critical to follow, as companies are more drawn to people with talents in multiple aspects. In addition, it is also beneficial when people would want to switch their fields of work, as the other electives would open up new doors of opportunities.