Some people believe teachers should have the final say about children’s education, while others believe parents should make these decisions. Discuss both sides.

There is the notion that teachers have better judgement of a student's abilities and therefore should have more power over their student's future in education. On the other hand, others say that parents are the ones, who should make these choices for their children. I strongly disagree with both ideas. First, it is my belief that a person should have full freedom of choice. Following this logic, no one other than the individual can make decisions for them. I believe it is understandable that other people, such as parents or teachers, may be able to see potential, which is unknown to the student, but this does not mean they can make the right choice because they do not understand the other person's wants. For example, my parents and many of my teachers have told me I would be a great doctor because I do not get affected by the pain of others as easily as other people but I have no interest in biology. Second, it is often possible for parents and teachers to know the kid as well as they think or have other motives. Going back to the given example, my parents did not take into account the fact I am scared of blood while making the suggestion that I study biology at university because for them it is important to have a doctor in the family as it is a tradition. Also, my teachers thought I was good at biology because of my high grades but did not know that this was my hardest subject and I barely achieved high results. In conclusion, it is impossible to know everything about somebody else to make a good choice for their future. Eeducation is a decision that will determine the person's life, so, it is best to be taken alone and have help only if wanted.