In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

There is no doubt that accommodation is one of the most crucial issues in societies. Whilst proponents hold the view that possessing a house is much more beneficial than renting one for psychological and social reasons, opponents have a diverse perspective. I am of the belief that renting properties can play an essential role in the growth of economy. To begin with, many people have a high tendency to buy properties instead of renting them for a psychological reason. In other words, if an individual buys his residence, it will give him a sense of ownership and security. A prime example is Egyptian people who allocate a high proportion of their budget to purchase a flat. Another reason is marriage which encourages the youth to buy houses rather than renting it. This example shows that many young people consider possessing a residential property as a target not just a mean for living. However, purchasing houses may pose a threat to citizens, and it has a detrimental effect on economy. To explain, when many individuals invest only in the real state market, it may lead to an economic recession. For example, third world countries which prioritize investment in housing industry only, however they neglect other industries such as education, healthcare and tourism. Hence, what can be said is that authorities should channel more funds into beneficial projects which are quite instrumental in developing the economy in the future. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that there are many causes why many people prefer to possessing a home to renting one. I am convinced that funding housing industry only may lead to many economical issues on the long run.