increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective?

Some argue that traffic and pollution issues can be solved by making fuel much more expensive. Although this statement is convincing to some extent, I disagree that it is as effective as it is thought to be and I believe that some other steps such as promoting the use of public transport, can be taken into account for addressing this issue. It is true that the governments have made policies such as increasing the price of petrol. By doing this, many people may prefer to leave their cars and motorcycles at home just because they don’t want to spend a lot of money on refuelling them which is why, they will be more likely to plan on buying a bicycle or using a public transportation. Although some people, especially families with higher incomes who normally own more than two cars, will continue using their personal automobiles as they normally are not as affected by the increase of expenses as middle-class families. For example, in my country Iran, nothing has really changed since petrol became more expensive which many of the governors claimed was a way of controlling the traffic and air pollution. I, on the other hand, do not agree that this means is efficient enough. One great way of having surveillance on these issues is to incentivize using the public transportation. To put this into practice, the governing body should first allocate a great amount of public budget to expanding the metro system network, manufacturing or buying more buses, and even making safer roads for bicycles. This will not only reduce the concerns about traffic management and air and ecological pollution but will also create more jobs for people namely driving. This is to say, giving royal citizens who benefit from these urban services a yearly discount can also be considered as a way of fostering the use of shared transport. For instance, in some countries around the world, the authorities have started public campaigns in which they inform people about the positives of not burning gasoline and the great effects of using bikes on our cardiovascular health and the way that it enhances the amount of oxygen that is pumped to our brain. In conclusion, it is true that increasing the price of fossil fuels would help solve some environmental issues, but I do not agree that this is the best way. Therefore I think there are some other ways like improving the quality of public transit, which might be more useful and beneficial in the long term.