Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sports sponsorship is known as a marketing strategy that is used by companies to promote their name, however, its impacts have created a debate. While several people indicate that athletic endorsements have a beneficial effect on companies' promotions, others still raise concerns about their influence. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I prefer the former notion.  On the one hand, some opinions agree that the idea of investing in sports events to advertise corporations' names is beneficial for businesses's performance. Firstly, it helps increase media exposure, leading to the enhancement of the brand's image and reputation. For example, Nike, who endorsed France's soccer teams in the 2022 World Cup, has improved their brand awareness as well as reputation since their logo appeared on French jerseys and footwear during million-view games. Secondly, firms' product sales increase positively when they collaborate with successful players. To illustrate, after Lionel Messi, who is Adidas's ambassador, won the 2022 World Cup with Argentina, his two gold stars were sold out. This not only boosted Adidas's product sales but also the firm's total revenue in 2022. Nevertheless, a group of people argue that collaboration in athletics is not effective marketing. One of the disagreements is that the intense competition among sponsors makes it difficult to stand out from other investors. For instance, in Formula One racing, large automobile manufacturers, such as Ferrari, take all the spotlight when funding the top-ranked teams. This leaves a small opportunity for other car enterprises that support low-ranked teams to gain recognition and reputation. Hence, although companies invest a significant amount in sponsorships, there is no guarantee that the partnership will always meet their expectations. In conclusion, despite the athletic partnership having some drawbacks due to the highly competitive environment, I am convinced that it still brings significant advantages to businesses as an advertising technique.