Individuals can do nothing to change society. Any new developments can only be brought about by governments and large institutions. How far do you agree or disagree?

Individuals can do nothing to change society. Any new developments can only be brought about by governments and large institutions. How far do you agree or disagree? It is believed that ordinary people can not enhance the quality of the community and they are not capable of making changes due to the fact that it is feasible only in the hands of the authorities. However, I strongly disagree with this statement and I believe that individuals can bring enormous benefits to mankind as a whole. First and foremost, humans are not deprived of the ability to demonstrate their outstanding ideas and express their thoughts, thus, we can easily create something useful for others and even ask for finances if we lack it. For instance, a Ukrainian engineer demonstrated his splendid project of building a sophisticated bridge across the river in Kyiv, consequently, noticing the strategic importance of this construction, the government subsidised it and a brilliant facility for the city dwellers was built. Hence, every human may try one's best to industrialize the urban area and make its general appearance even more attractive and convenient for others. Secondly, people should not rely only on the authorities and huge institutions because,usually they are not interested in wasting their time on some minor projects, which may be significant for the residents on the other hand. In other,words saying, if some amenities in the city are required, citizens may demonstrate their engagement in it and gather together to implement it in reality. For example, if someone is inventive one can bring about change for society and large companies should allocate some funds if they want to assist one and make the project successful. To summarise, personally, I consider that in order to improve the quality of living, joint actions have to be taken because the collaboration between them is a background for advanced innovations.