The demand for food is increasing worldwide. Why has it happened? What measures could the international community take to improve the situation?

In today's world, society's demand for food is rising considerably by increasing the population on earth and providing enough resources and infrastructure is a main concern for the international community. This essay provides information about the main reasons for this problem and offers solutions to address them. On the grounds of developing better access to healthcare, the greater number of the population we have compared to a century ago results in more required food. Improving medical science by inventing new vaccines to prevent public contagious diseases and developing new methods to treat patients increased the life expectancy index around the world. Moreover, another reason that has to be considered is that people's welfare has been significantly improved and they expect more quality food than before. Hence, the food consumption has risen incredibly. The lack of agricultural farmlands and enough resources of water is a major concern for governments to provide food for their residents. Governments should be responsible for providing fresh water from seawater using new methods and newly developed machines. With the advances in technology now it is possible to use seawater as a source of fresh water to use them in farmlands. In addition to this, the other possible solution for individuals is starting to plant their vegetables in their homes which outcomes in more available farmlands. For instance, newly built building's rooftops are now designed for people to plant seeds and produce their own consumption. To conclude, better health care and individuals' welfare have resulted in a greater population in the world however it caused a lack of resources for providing enough food. By transforming fresh water from seawater and planting vegetables in rural areas this problem can be addressed.