Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages of having a fixed punishment ?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people breaking the law. Many people think that having a fixed punishment will be efficient in preventing crimes. However, there are some benefits of having a predetermined penalty. The first reason why having a predetermined penalty beneficial is having a deterrent effect on society. The citizens will get a clear understanding of the rules and their punishments. It will make people who consider doing illegal activity feel afraid. The fixed penalty may serve to remind people of the punishment that they will receive. For illustration, citizens will avoid taking the things that do not belong to them as they understand the punishment that they will get if they take others' belongings. As a result, the deterrent effect will make the crime rate go down and bring peace. The second benefit is equality. It is believed that every citizen should be treated equally. By having fixed punishment, the government treats people equally. The judges will give the wrongdoers a penalty without considering their social status. For instance, killers will get the same punishment without considering any situations. Nevertheless, more people will believe in laws. They can rely on laws as laws have a sense of equity. Consequently, the citizens will feel secure and safe as they are treated equally. To sum up, an increasing number of people believe predetermined penalties will be effective in reducing crimes as they can bring deterrent effect and equality to society. They can enjoy the benefits of feeling secure, safe, and peaceful.