Some people believe that studying literature is important for individual character building while others think it is a waste of time.Discuss both views and your opinion.

Whilst many people assume that studying literature plays a significant role in terms of developing one's characteristics, others think doing so is not worth spending our time on. After discussing both points of view, I will explain the reason why I think that learning this subject could contribute to individual character development. To begin with, literature teaches its learners many valuable lessons. This subject, by showing the absolute beauty, or even revealing the terrible side of this world through language could lighten many people the ways to what they want to become. When it comes to children, who are still naive and fresh, and have not fully developed their personality, literature definitely helps form who they will be. As an example, the story of Cinderella, one of the most popular folk, would teach children to believe in love and to never give up, which are long-life lessons for all of us. However, people, in their cognitive development, need to be more logical and realistic. To some people, it is really important to be as realistic as we can because real life would not work the same way as a fairy tale does. For instance, if a girl has a strong belief in the story of Cinderella, once again, she might act in some ways that are too dreamy to this world that she could meet her destiny someday without trying to be a better version of herself. In conclusion, it is easy to understand why there are two conceptions about studying literature in term of whether doing so help develop people's personality or not. However, I, through personal experience, believe that investigating deeply into this subject could help a person find who she truly is.