SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THE MAIN PURPOSE OF TELEVISION SHOULD BE EDUCATION; WHILE OTHERS SAY THAT IT SHOULD BE FOR ENTERTAINMENT ONLY.DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

It is being argued by some folks that television is made for learning whereas others think that TV is a leisure time thing and can be only used to entertain ourselves as there is nothing to learn from it. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will be discussing both views and my viewpoint. It is evident that Television is like a teacher and the viewers are the learners. In fact, it is a human tendency to grasp everything by watching and listening. For example, children can easily learn a new language by watching movies and cartoons in that particular language. Also, there are some channels in India for education where pupils can learn science and mathematical concepts. Moreover, many competitive examinations ask general knowledge questions and one who watches news channels will have in-depth knowledge of the surroundings and can easily crack the paper. However,, initially Television was created with the intention of entertainment only. Mostly, it has music, movies and cartoon channels as compared to educational channels. Nowadays, technology has been so developed that students can learn whatever they want from the internet within seconds since it's so fast and they do not need to wait for a particular time to watch a program. Additionally, funny or family programs on television bind the family together, for example, during or after dinner time when all family members sit together, they do not want something boring, they want something fun to watch after a long day. In my opinion, television should be considered for entertainment only because we have so many other options to educate ourselves in a better way. Youtube is a great platform to learn anything new whether it is a math problem or cooking classes. It is time-saving and easy to use. In conclusion, one group of individuals see television as a box of entertainment while others regard it as a tutor for learners who want to learn something.