All children should learn to play a musical instrument at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on whether it is beneficial to require all students to study musical instruments or not. While studying how to play musical instruments can bring many benefits to these children, I disagree with this view, and I do believe that children should have their own autonomy to make their own choices. On the one hand, schoolers can benefit a lot from attending musical classes. To begin with, learning how to play instruments would cultivate their sense of art and foster their creativity compared with those people who do not engage in such a learning experience. For example, those teenagers who have learned musical knowledge are likely to come up with creative solutions in the ever-changing workplaces. What is more, those learners would have better emotions since the atmosphere that is provided by these instruments is usually relaxing and exciting, which could reduce their stress from their studying. As a result, they can devote themselves to studying afterwards more effectively and efficiently. However, it is unreasonable to force all kids to learn instruments. Firstly, their free time is limited and should be allocated to those lessons that align with their interests and talents, which can maximise their learning efficiency. Not all schooler is interested in music. For instance, some people like outdoor sports, but other people prefer science. If we forced them to attend those classes, there would be dissatisfaction among those students. By contrast, if schools allow them to spend their valuable time in the field that they find interesting, it would facilitate prosperity in all subjects. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why people tip the balance in favour of music, but for the majority of students, not all students are interested in music. Therefore, I would argue that we should allow children to make their own decisions.