Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A debate about the approaches resulting in fresh air has been prevalent in our community. While some masses argue that no-car usage for days would prevent this issue, according to others, other measures are far more efficient. From my perspective, I agree with the latter aspect and will show my reasons in this essay. No-car rules for days may alleviate smoke and fumes, which cause air pollution. In fact, by using public transport, such as buses, trains, or even planes, commuters use less oil or gasoline, which leads to the reduction of fossil fuels and toxic gases released into the environment. For example, car owners who travel from home to work during rush hours could cause harmful effects due to the slow influx of traffic, such as emitting carbon footprints, while using buses to travel is more convenient and saves energy. However, this approach just exerts a short-term impact on the community, which does not eradicate the underlying causes. On the other hand, increasing citizens’ perceptions about environmental conservation is the optimal method. To be more specific, propaganda, campaigns, and other projects established by non-profit organizations about environmental impacts broaden one’s knowledge of not only reliable sources about the air quality system but also practical solutions for the problem. If this process continues to apply to a wider population, more and more individuals will be willing to dramatically contribute to our society. Furthermore, punishments should be allowed to be imposed on lawbreakers who commit illegal acts against the ecological system. For instance, some factory owners who try to make more profits by using hazardous chemical substances during the manufacturing process are severely punished by the government. With all the reasons above, the environment is more secured and safer than ever. To conclude, although prohibiting cars for several days will be useful for a short period of time, I believe that the root causes of this problem underlie people’s awareness. Thus, appropriate punishments and more reliable information sources are far better than the former approach.