Development in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is of the opinion that science and technological advancements provide effective solutions to environmental challenges, whereas others advocate a simpler life to protect the environment. In this essay, both sides will be explored, followed by my viewpoints. On the one hand, the idea that people should follow a simpler life is grounded in certain valid points. Firstly, there is a fact that advanced technologies can pose numerous threats to habitats. For example, cars have been a primary source of greenhouse gas emissions, particularly carbon dioxide, causing severe air pollution, climate change and global warming. Secondly, it is believed that this way of life can potentially reduce the consumption of electricity, thus decreasing the exploitation of fossil fuels and nuclear power, which ultimately prevents the degradation of natural resources. This is evident in the annual event called Earth Hour where citizens are encouraged to turn off lights in 60 minutes. It is estimated that this event can lead to the reduction of about 17,900 metric tons of carbon dioxide emissions, equivalent to taking 4 million cars off the road in an hour. On the other hand, many argue that science and technology are indispensable tools for addressing environmental damage. To be more specific, innovations such as renewable energy technology and effective waste management systems offer sustainable solutions to numerous issues. Additionally, supporters of this point believe that science and technology enable people to live sustainably without sacrificing their lives. They point out that advanced technology can offset carbon dioxide, clean polluted waterways and recover ecosystems, hence playing a crucial role in environmental conservation. To illustrate, plastic waste has been a major concern globally as plastic cannot break down naturally and can persist for hundreds of years. With advanced technology, scientists have found a new method to produce plastic bags which can be recycled, therefore, resolving one of the major environmental problems. In conclusion, although a simpler life can contribute to protecting the environment, it is the integration of sustainable technologies and innovations that are the key to dealing with environmental issues. Emphasizing education and investing in green technologies can ensure that people not only minimize negative effects on the environment but also improve the quality of life by cleaner air and water and using natural resources effectively and economically.