Many countries are investing more in art nowadays. Some people think that government investment should be put more in art while others think that it should be put more in public healthcare and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Much attention is paid to developing art by governments nowadays. Some people in support of art deserve more financial input, while others contend that public healthcare and education need more government budgets. From my perspective, it should be determined on a case-by-case basis, governments in different areas should have different priorities. Economic development in big cities or developed areas has developed faster, better public service has been provided in recent years so government spending should be allocated to address other issues like providing various modes of entertainment and enjoyment to individuals and a society in large. First off, art can play a vital role in developing imagination and expressing emotions positively, especially for children’s grown up in an early stage. Additionally, in regard to urban public space, art like sculptures or statues can represent the city’s cultural value and spirit which provides a platform for communication. Finally, cultural industries are essential parts of the government’s income, for example, Shenzhen is one of the World Design Capitals rewarded by WDC, and there are countless elements of design and culture landscape in the city, such as museums, galleries and a variety of design events, which attracts artists, architects and designers all over the world. Their participation enriches Shenzhen’s art atmosphere, what is more, they create more economic income and working positions. Therefore, governments in these areas should invest a large amount of public money in art lessons in schools and related industries. However, other crucial issues such as public healthcare and education should not be ignored, especially for those developing regions or disadvantaged areas. It is the responsibility of the government to take for building and effectively maintain a sound system of public healthcare and education, since they are fundamental to individual well-being. The key point to poverty reduction is to grant financial assistance and equal access to educational resources along with medical treatment. For example, more schools and hospitals should be built in these areas with sufficient equipment and staff, that’s primarily because health can ensure they are living in good condition, and knowledge would be the most effective method to increase their personal income, consequently they can get rid of poverty fundamentally. Apart from that, related departments should introduce policies and allocate resources to cater to core demands in the livelihood of the poor people. since China is a developing country with a large number of poor population, it’s a long-term but necessary process. In conclusion, since public budgets are not unlimited, governments in different parts should take art, healthcare and education into different priorities. People need aesthetic education and public welfare as well.