The best way to reduce poverty in developing countries is by giving up to six years of free education so that they can at least read, write and use numbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Poverty is the most common problem in many developing nations. Offering free primary education is believed to be the best way to solve this problem, so that people can improve their reading, writing and numbering skills. I strongly disagree with the aforementioned statement because of its various drawbacks. This essay will discuss the reason for my differences. To begin with, the first and foremost reason is that only free schooling is not effective enough to develop the country. Although education can provide people with wisdom and knowledge, the development of society takes a long process. Many poor people will not see these long-term benefits and want to be provided with the basic necessities. For instance, their priority is some aspects like food, shelter and clothes. Thus, instead of joining in free tuition, many people like to do some manual labor to make a living. Furthermore, the government has to spend a large sum of money to provide free education. In fact, these developing countries can not afford to provide free tuition for about 6 years for all people. They have to raise the taxes of other citizens or take money from other areas to make up for it. This may add to poverty rather than solve it, and even restrain the development of society. To conclude then, no doubt, education has its own importance to raise the country's economy, but the government still has to consider the aspirations of the poor and the amount of money they can spend. Therefore, the modernisation of existing professions and creating more job opportunities would be more impressive to combat poverty.