Living in a a country where you have to speak foreign Language can cause serious social. problems, as well as practical problems. To What extent do you agree or dis agrees

Staying abroad for long where you have to speak its native language can cause detrimental communication issues. I totally agree with the statement due to the social and practical problems that a language gap can contribute. To begin with, in spite of the fact that English is an accredited international language standard, some societies just don't speak it. This phenomenon happened mostly in developing countries in Asia and Africa. To give an example, my friend testified how struggling it was to connect with the locals while he was studying abroad in Japan. It turned out that only one out of ten Japanese has English -speaking capability and, hence, causing a serious communication problem. Additionally, most public facilities' signages, place directories, and even food menu books are written only in the local language, thus, becoming a pain point to do daily activities. This will get even worse if the native characters are not in alphabetical form like Thailand's, China's, or even Hong Kong's writings. For instance, I was forced to depend on Google Translate to barely understand MRT's signs when I visited Bangkok last year. Have been experiencing the obstacle myself, I couldn't imagine how hard it would be for foreigners living in Bangkok. Despite the fact that living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social and practical issues, people might overcome this by learning and using the language itself to help themselves. Learning from my friend's example living in Japan, he also attempted to make friends with other immigrants who speak English to stay sociable. To add, technological advancements in translation providers also play a significant role in this matter. In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that the language gap causes detrimental effects on immigrants. The reasons for the same are the fact that the majority of the locals don't speak English and essential signages are written in native characters. To close, I believe that it will be undeniably desirable if all nations apply English as their secondary language to minimize the effect of the language gap.