In some countries, more and more are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In some parts of the World, an increasing number of people are investigating the past structures they habitate in. While there could be various reasons for this hobby the most reliable approach to solve the mystery is to attend the City archives. I will bring some reasons for doing so in the following paragraphs. Nowadays, with the development of technologies, it become possible to create durable and sustainable buildings that have a greater life span. Moreover, by implementing new approaches engineers are capable of restoring and reinforcing old architectural structures that will last for centuries. Thus people who used to live in similar places got involved in mind games the purpose of which is to find out the history and related to that date prominent events. For example, my uncle lives in an apartment building before the Soviet era and it had an irregular shape and height these aspects were motivational in order to find out the answer. No doubt, the most obvious and trustworthy source of information is documentation preserved by the government in related construction departments. With hindsight, it is possible to reconstruct the continuous changes and upgrades which can't be revealed by simply observing. The other way to deliver some necessary information is through interviews with tenants and veterans. Definitely, some of them are memory bearers that are unique and can't be found in any other official sources. To conclude, many people are interested in the history of their building or apartment and seek additional information that could be found in the City archives or memories of locals. From my perspective, this is a great initiative that assists to preserving small pieces of the whole picture.