Small business are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many big companies are overtaking the business of small or medium-sized enterprises. This phenomenon has some advantages in the lives of workers and common people thus pros outweigh the cons. This essay outlines the reasons for this. One of the advantages is that multinational companies can attract more clients from across the world and contribute to the economy of the nation. Nevertheless, it can provide ample job opportunities and promotions to the workers which is challenging to get in small businesses. For instance, a small toy manufacturer is limited to any city or state but when a large enterprise overtakes this business, they can sell their products not only to all the states but to the outside world as well and generate more revenues and jobs. Similarly, large companies provide many types of facilities within a store which make individuals' shopping experience convenient. The main disadvantage is that due to the monopoly of these companies, the price of the goods and commodities increases thus making it difficult for ordinary people to afford it. For example, because of the monopoly of the gas companies, individuals can witness the increase in the price of domestic and commercial LPG cylinders making it challenging for the ordinary public to purchase. Additionally, there is healthy competition in small businesses due to multiple vendors, but this does not happen in multinational companies. To conclude, both small and larger businesses are essential and play a vital role in the growth of the nations, but large businesses have major advantages in terms of convenience and job opportunities that they provide to the people. Therefore, the pros outweigh the cons.