In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many parts of the world, there has been an increase in the number of the elderly. Many are of the opinion that this brings a menace to the government while others believe they are needed in society. There are pros and cons to this and in this essay, I will justify why I think the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, a major disadvantage is the reduction in manpower. The working populace consists mainly of young adults and middle-aged persons but with an increase in the elderly group, there are fewer hands available in the labour market. This could subsequently lead to a decline in economic growth. Furthermore, there is a divergence of funds, which could have been used in other sectors for the care of the aged. Hence, these divisions are subpar and affect their offspring. For instance, the USA has a greater percentage of youths who occupy major positions in the government and have brought new innovations that have brought nationwide growth with equitable distribution of resources. Furthermore, an increase in the elderly population causes a rise in the health burden of a country. The geriatric age group are known to have chronic illnesses that require long-term management. This will require medical supplies and facilities that add to the cost spent on healthcare in order to be able to care for their specific health needs. In the UK, there has been an increased need for homes and medical personnel for the care of senior citizens due to their increasing size. This is why I am of the opinion that this development has more negative impacts. On the other hand, a few advantages exist as pensioners offer great help in the care of children. Most youths after having children rarely have time to care for their children due to their busy schedules but their retired parents can offer to care for them while they at work. For example, in my city, school drop-offs are mainly done by the grandparents of the pupils as many parents are occupied with work. In addition, historical values and cultures are passed down to the younger generation through the stories told by the aged. This would help to preserve their heritage and help them remember their roots. In conclusion, there are varying views concerning the impact of the surging number of the elderly. Although they provide help in the home their dependence causes a greater burden on the economy.