Along with economic development, the environment of the world is being seriously polluted. What economic activities can cause harm to the environment? What can be done to prevent this?

The more a country is financially developed, the contrary, its environment is being outrageously harmed. Both the economic enhancement and environmental damage are like trade-offs. In the following essay, I jot down the contributors of the degrading environment including the increasing industrial demand and foreign investment. To begin with, the urge to fulfil the industrial demand in order to keep the economy running causes deforestation and pollution that hurts the environment. The Gross Domestic Product, or revenue, of a nation is mainly composed of its society's consumption, thus, the demand for primary up to tertiary needs is increasing as the population rises. This urgency to keep up the economic activities by adding more industrial complexes is realized at the cost of deforestation. For instance, in my country, what once previously were green areas are now converted into factories. Consequently, the expanding factories and land utilization leave harmful excesses and waste that contribute to the polluted environment. In addition to consumption, investments both foreign and domestic also build the country's income. Unfortunately, in developing nations, international investors only seek to milk as many natural resources as they can. Take the Freeport case in Indonesia as example, the US officials extracted the mineral and destroyed the mining area. Despite the problems being extremely serious, I believe there are precedences that can be taken to fix the issue. Firstly, the government should amend and monitor the Company's Social Responsibility (CSR) policies to minimize detrimental effects on surging factories' production. Finally, the government undeniably need to end the contract of harmful foreign capital injection projects. For example, during Jokowi's reign in Indonesia, the Freeport project was taken over and, hence, diminished the environmental damage. In conclusion, we have to combat irreparable damage from irresponsible economic activities. Some valuable methods are to apply strict CSR policy and cut any detrimental international investment activity. It would be nice if economic activities could lean towards renewable energy as well.