Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is increasingly becoming a concern whether in these current,times it is necessary to teach children to write. I partly disagree with this. To begin with, most of the traditional means of communicating through writing using ink or pencils are gradually fading away with technological advancement. For instance, in the past letter writing was a common means of communication between individuals. It was only logical for people to spend time learning to write very legibly to be able to send their message across to the reader. However, with the advent of social media and electronic mail services, folks are gearing towards using electronic means to reach one another. Also, technology even gives the alternative of talking instead of writing to relay a message. Another aspect is the banking sector, where chequebooks are also becoming a thing of the past as most banks have installed devices which makes bank transaction possible without any form of writing. On the other hand, some people appreciate the effort put into using ink on a sheet of pepper to reach them. They would rather one write rather than type out a message to them. This is common in the conservative people who work at conserving culture somehow. To add to this, classroom teaching requires a teacher to put notes on the board to the students in the class and explain them. It is one aspect I do not see technology replacing anytime soon and so from this angle it is necessary for children to be taught to write using their hands so that others can read what they have written. To sum up, handwriting though seems outdated, has incredible importance in some regards. Therefore I partly disagree with the notion that children shouldn't be taught to write with their hands.