Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With some cities vehicle-free days are becoming a reality, and people are encouraged to use public transportation to save the environment. I personally believe that vehicle-free days will bring far more benefits than the possible drawbacks they have. To begin with, many people realised that motor vehicles had a negative impact on the environment. It also drew many protests in several countries. So they created vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. The vehicle-free days are days celebrated as an initiative to encourage motorists to take a break from driving and use alternatives to motorised vehicles. Not only for motorcyclists but also for car drivers. Based on research, 70% of air pollution sources come from motor vehicle exhaust emissions. This is in line with the growth in the transport sector. Furthermore, the benefits of the vehicle-free days or what we can call Car Free Day, include more green space available, moments to voice opinions about the environment, providing infrastructure for active transport, cooler, healthier and cleaner air and efforts to save the earth. This is because by taking a break from driving and using public transportation, you are making a small contribution to reducing the amount of air pollution. In the Car Free Day area organised activities for the community where small and medium enterprises gather which encourage the economy as well. In conclusion, vehicle-free days have many great benefits including environmental and economic benefits, and it is expected that we could use public transportation.