Young people today are richer, safer, healthier, but less happy. Why and solution?

It has been universally accepted that the problem of teenagers nowadays is becoming wealthier, safterier, and healthier than in the past; however, the number of unhappy teenagers is soaring at an alarming rate. The problem is bringing a state of depression among the masses and in the economy too. There are a plethora of reasons for the same, and possible solutions can be suggested too, which are discussed in the following paragraphs, after which I will lead to a logical conclusion. In regards to the problem, the major reasons that can be stated are that underage people in this decade live under pressure from their families, who expect their children to achieve more academically than ever before. Due to this reason, young people might be smarter, put their knowledge to work, and get richer. However, this also leads to stress, anxiety, and more depression. Another factor to take into account is social media and the Internet. With the development of technology nowadays, underage people can easily access the Internet to learn or even make friends on social media platforms, which can make them happier because they can stay home. Nonetheless, social media can create a false sense of connection and belonging, and it can also be a breeding ground for cyberbullying and unrealistic expectations. In support of this reason, a known fact is that in Gen Z, the generation in this century, 80% of them are introverts and have lots of problems with mental health, according to The Guardian. Looking at the problem from a positive perspective, many solutions can be helpful to curb this menace. One of the solutions is that schools and parents need to focus on developing the students’ well-being, not just their academic achievement, and this includes teaching students coping skills and especially stress management. For example, parents can spend time with them or talk with them about the troubles they get into. This can help youngsters connect with family and friends, which is one of the best ways to help them get a second wind. Secondly, social media platforms and internet providers need to do more to protect young people from cyberbullying and other online harm. To cite an example, young people need to get involved in their communities, such as school or the place where they live. Moreover, volunteering, helping, and encouraging others is a great way to find meaning and purpose in life. Last but not least, taking care of their physical and mental health, eating a healthy diet, exercising regularly, and getting enough sleep are all important for happiness. In a nutshell, solving a global issue is not easy, but nonetheless, with the joint efforts of the people, control can be taken over the problem with the aforementioned suggested measures. I believed that not only the government but also individuals, especially young people's parents, should come forward to mitigate these problems.