It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. Do You agree or disagree with it?

Parks and space for outdoor recreational activities are essential in urban areas. This essay completely agrees with this statement as it attempts to bring humans closer to the environment. As the world advances in all its aspects, we are running out of space in cities. Buildings, from villas to huge skyscrapers are seen in almost all metropolitan areas nowadays as part of the industrial revolution. People are invading the habitats of native animals and plants to build more and more infrastructure, leaving no space for society to move around and breathe fresh air. For instance, a lot of flora and fauna around major hubs in developed nations have been endangered in the past 2 decades. If continued, this might lead to their extinction. So, it is important for developed communities to have specialised areas for outdoor activities such as parks and squares to not only preserve the environment but also to provide a place to relax and have fun. The trees planted attract fauna such as bees and other insects which help maintain the flora. Nature, when re-built, can serve to be soothing to humans too. Such cool, breezy and environmentally friendly places can help de-stress an individual. People can take time out from their busy schedules to utilise such places effectively through morning walks, nature yoga or even walking their pets. This can help improve the productivity of an individual and can be beneficial for a nation's economy. For instance, Bhutan is considered the world's happiest country because of its lush greenery and minimal industrial development. In conclusion, humans, when in harmony with their nature, can prove to be effective and it is essential for cities to have large spaces around to further the development of the nation.