In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

While the economy is developing worldwide, more and more people from rural areas are migrating to the cities. By contrast, the crowds in the countryside are fewer than before. In this essay, I would argue that the positive effects of this phenomenon outweigh the negative. People in cities have more job opportunities that benefit their career life. Additionally, due to the development of the agricultural industry, producing the same yield of crops needs less workforce than previously. First and foremost, it is far easier to get a high paid job in a metropolis. For instance, cutting-edge industry such as software, artificial intelligence, and financial services, is only available in modern society. This is the main reason why the young adult leaves their hometown decidedly. Furthermore, they can build up their business and get a large profit, which is impossible in a small village. Hence, moving to big capital is a major trend among rural folk. Moreover, due to the development of agriculture, the farmland needs a far smaller population than before. Thus, a huge proportion of the farmers have lost their jobs. For example, those who sow the seeds into the soil by hand are all replaced by automatic machines without a workforce. This is a game changer that completely alters the whole rural society, leading to a significant trend to force the people into cities. The more machines used in the countryside, the less community need to live there. In conclusion, there is nothing that can shift the major trends that people move their home from rural to cities. Since there are huge opportunities in cities and less demand in rural, I believe the positive effect outweighs the negative.