A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

In the modern era, whether tourism is a contributor to a nation's development remains a contentious topic surrounding many arguments. In the following paragraphs, I intend to delve into the advantages and disadvantages of this controversial issue, and a concrete answer is given below in subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, it is believed by many that tourists bring various benefits with them. To begin, developing nationalities such as Mexico and Thailand mainly depend on tourism for economic growth. Furthermore, due to a scarcity of jobs in less populated regions, natives survive because of the expenditures made by people on attractions and food. To illustrate, Mexico was declared bankrupt by the United Nations Organization in 2006 due to the country's debt. Since then, it has flourished in all aspects, such as GDP, and the reputation of diversity is on the rise. Furthermore, the citizens get to learn the cultures and traditions of other nationalities, and tourism affects tourism in a positive way. On the contrary, various schools of thought suggest that tourism is a disguise for the modern world and brings many disadvantages to society. To commence, if not tackled in the right way, the communist parties and other religions from other parts of the globe can dominate the population which can have detrimental effects on the people residing in a country. Also, conflicts and riots are common in nations that attract a lot of visitors. To illustrate, Sweden, a democratic country where people can freely express their thoughts, is a home for the LGBTQ community. However, due to the lack of repression of thought expressions, people frequently protest, resulting in riots that have a direct impact on the reputation of a nation. To conclude, tourism has facilitated many things, enriching people's lives. Hence, I believe that disadvantages are negligible in comparison to advantages.