Many people they spend large part of their free time using smartphones What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, technological improvements have developed at the speed of light and there is tremendous potential in our lives including smartphones, computers etc. In this world, a number of people spend a huge time on the Internet. Few folks believe it is a positive development while others are opposed to it. However, I believe it has more negative impacts on society as compared to positive ones due to possible suitable reasons which should be considered serious and the following paragraphs will expatiate both stances with lucid examples. To begin with, the first and foremost benefit of using mobile phones is it helps us to take information in a short period of time as well as learn quickly because of their features. For example: students take advantage of their phones by watching videos on YouTube regarding their studies such as heart structure and its functions. Secondly, we can contact our families even from far away, especially international students. According to an American study, 90% of overseas students feel less homesick as they are in contact with their close crowd regularly which helps them not only to succeed in life but also relieve their stress. On the other side, the first significant disadvantage is the impact on the health of people as well as on their activeness. To illustrate my point, because of the excessive use of smartphones, the public has issues related to cervical, vision, sleep etc. According to the research conducted by the U.S.A., 70% of the young generation have insomnia because of a large part of their time on the cell as the screen releases toxins which promote the growth of a hormone called melatonin in the body which helps us to stay awake at night. Moreover, the crime rates are rapidly increasing because of new technology. To exemplify, cybercrime, hacking, and rapes are raising day by day because of these advanced features. To conclude, there is no doubt it has a number of pros such as helping with studies and staying in contact with close ones beside that it has a lot of cons for our population, especially for the young generation like health issues, laziness, and crime rates.