In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

People from around the world are leaving rural fields and becoming city residents causing population decrease in rural areas. Although the urbanization process has some negative consequences, the positive impact overweight those consequences. While moving to cities people from rural areas may overpopulate those cities. Overpopulation in its turn tends to create traffic congestion, and the city itself may not be able to function properly. Some metropolises are usually designed for some amount of population; thus, overpopulation means a lack of accommodation, electricity shortages and a lack of water supply. Furthermore, the urbanization process decreases the population in remote areas which then leads to a decline in agricultural production. In other words, fewer people in rural areas might not be able to provide sufficient amounts of agricultural products such as crops, grain, vegetables and cattle. With regards to the advantages of the urbanization process, community from remote locations will access high living conditions and appropriate jobs and education in cities. There is no surprise that residents of cities can obtain higher education and work at high-paying jobs compared to people from villages. Consequently, if people from rural areas get appropriate education the average qualification level among citizens of a country will rise. As a result, the number of qualified specialists will increase and with it the economy of the country. To conclude, the abrupt urbanization growth might lead to overpopulation of cities and a lack of agricultural products, though a slow and gradual urbanization process which would take place with the adaptation of cities to increased population will improve the average qualification level of the nation.