In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

It is an irrefutable fact that life expectancy is increasing in most parts of the world. Some are of the belief that this ample old population poses problematic affairs for governments. Whereas others think this will benefit society. From my point of view, the merits of having the elderly in society utterly cover its demerits. In the following paragraphs, I shall put forth my arguments to support my views. First and foremost, the Elderly’s experience, which they have gained in all aspects of their professions, could benefit youngsters by teaching them the difficulties that they have been through. For instance, retired workers can be hired as consultants in university faculties, which are related to their fields of proficiency, and teach students about all the possible problems in their future careers and how to overcome them. Secondly, older people, who are still competent in doing less physically demanding jobs, usually require far lower salaries than the younger workforce in the same positions. Therefore, businesses especially start-ups could take full advantage of the mentioned fact and hire experienced workers and put them in positions where experience is rather pivotal with much lower wages. Take management roles in enterprises which need someone who knows how to deal with managing problems and possesses certain related attributes such as capital management and all of these come with saving more overall salary budget. Although governments must allocate more budget for the elderly’s health care, this issue should not be severely impactful. Governments and related organizations could resolve it by correctly implementing proper health schemes and creating more insurance plans for the elderly. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, even though this rise in the number of elderlies in society could create some problems in the healthcare system, it’s advantages such as the experience they can convey to youngsters and financial benefits for businesses are way more beneficial for society.