Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people than recent technological developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern society, technological advances have provided a wide range of benefits to human life. In light of this, public opinions remain divided on whether the previous technological advancement brought more crucial merits than the current one or not. While the importance of today’s technology is indisputable, I deem that the first technological inventions have more significant impacts on humanity. On the one hand, earlier technologies play a vital role in improving human life quality. It should be recognized that the advent of these devices has considerably changed our lives. For example, thanks to the telephone invention, communication has become more convenient and faster. In particular, the telephone allows for easy contact between people and others without the need for face-to-face interaction, and geographical distance constraints which can be time-saving and cost-effective. In addition, the light bulb is another testament to the imperative role of previous developments. Humans used to mainly depend on sunlight and candles as their main light sources. After the light bulb had been introduced, inhabitants had the ability to continue working after sundown, extended the workday well into the night, allowed us to navigate and travel safely in the dark as well as increased productivity. Without this innovation, there would be no nightlife. As a result, ancient inventions are constantly upgraded to become more modern and functional which is the foundation for later developments. On the other hand, recent advancements also have benefits. For a start, the most decisive advantage of current cutting-edge technologies is information storage and information for all. This is predicated that they allow for the storing of enormous volumes of information in comparatively tiny places. The majority of information is readily accessible to the general public, and the Internet connects people from all over the world. Another vital factor is that today’s contemporary devices are more affordable in comparison with the past, which means that everyone in society is more likely to approach and obtain the merits of technology, making human life simpler and more suitable. In conclusion, even if recent technical improvements have had a number of important positive effects on individuals, I do not believe they can completely balance the earlier ones.