Some people believe that it is important for parents to tell or read stories to their children. Others think that parents don't have to do this because there are many sources for children to read like books, TV, and movies. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some individuals, it is essential for parents to read stories to or tell stories to their children, while others believe it is not an important responsibility since there is a range of sources for children, such as movies, books, and TV. Although both approaches may be beneficial in their own ways, I believe the latter option is more effective because those mentioned sources provide a more sophisticated method to learn. On the one hand, it is true that parents telling a story to a child is quite advantageous. The main reasons why it can be effective are a parent's awareness of how a child absorbs information and the use of charisma during the process. Put simply, a parent knows their child better than anyone else and may find the best way to read or tell a story in an entertaining way. In addition, such quality time together may strengthen the bond between a parent and a child. On the other hand, giving children access to sources such as books and TV may be as or even more productive. For instance, there are various channels on television, some of which create exceptionally good content that is aimed at educating children. Discovery and National Geographic are some of the most popular examples of educational channels that are also fascinating in many ways. What makes watching such content special is that it is a more sophisticated process than listening to a parent. To be specific, watching a show on National Geographic means looking at images, listening to a narrator, and reading texts when necessary. In my view, providing children with access to specific sources such as the ones mentioned above is a perfect choice. It presents more diversity and challenges a child to learn in a multifaceted way, which is crucial in the era of information overload. Children who read books, watch TV, and view movies may develop better than those who only listen to stories told by their parents. In conclusion, it is clear that reading stories to children has its benefits, but familiarizing children with numerous ways to learn is generally better.