Some people think that learning the language and culture of a country is essential when you live in a country for a long time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, If an individual decides to live in a country for a long period of time, learning their culture and language is important. I completely agree with this notion because this will help the individual find a sense of belongingness in that country as well as seeking a job would be easier for them. This essay will further discuss this issue and provide a concluding view. Living in a foreign country could be extremely challenging to fit in, especially if there is a language barrier and they have a conservative culture. If temporary residents choose to ignore these, it will be difficult for them to find a place in this type of community. Consider some ex-pats who live in Korea, where they take advantage of the popularity of the country and film their sacred temples without knowing the history of places; hence, many Koreans discriminate against foreigners as exploiters. I believe a lack of understanding about the nation that you reside in will definitely make it an uncomfortable place to live in. Meanwhile, one of the benefits of understanding the culture and language of the country you live in will help you land a job quite easily. Being able to communicate with your colleagues is vital to creating a harmonious workplace, in addition, learning their ways of life will give you an understanding of why they do certain things. Not many countries promote work-life balance like France and Australia, if you happen to message your co-worker regarding their incomplete tasks outside their working hours, you might experience cold shoulders the next day. In conclusion, it seems reasonable to show value to a nation's heritage and cultural beliefs to prevent t being discriminated against. Making an effort to adapt to the ways of life of their chosen country may create a career opportunity for themselves. Therefore, in my opinion, this is important.