Government should put tax on unhealthy food to motivate people to eat Healthy food. Do you agree or disagree?

Many would argue that extra tax should be added to the prices of junk food, so the society is tempted to eat healthier food. I believe this strategy won't work as our authorities would imagine. People don't like to be threatened or to be taken advantage of by their state. So, when governments charge them more for their favourite food, even if it is for the sake of their health, they react negatively and start resisting. For instance, if we ask our children to do their homework, it is likely that they would do anything to avoid doing what they're told. Thus, even if governments actually care about the public health of their nation, the society would be suspect that something else is going on. Moreover, it will take away their freedom in choosing their meals. Although many would argue that sometimes, people might use their freedom incorrectly, it is still their most important right as a human to not be forced upon by the authorities. Furthermore, it might look like that the state is desperately trying to improve the public health and receive more money at the same time and therefore, doubt the capabilities of the government. Hence, the lack of freedom and the incapability to solve the issue, reduces the trust of public in the authorities. To conclude, I consider it highly problematic to force people to eat healthy and in fact, I believe it will have distructive effects in the opposite direction.