In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in a specific area and separated them each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh disadvantages.

In various metropolitan areas, planners specifically locate shops, schools, offices, and residential areas away from each other. They do this to control the congestion in the city as well as to follow the zoning regulations. I believe this outweighs any disadvantages that this issue may have. This essay will discuss this further and provide a concluding view. Firstly, the accessibility and travel time are compromised with this type of arrangement. To illustrate this, it would be inconvenient if a person walking from the shopping centre wanted to buy groceries from the supermarket. In many circumstances, this is inefficient in terms of both cost and time, particularly in cities with inadequate transportation systems. However, because the majority of their target customers are in the same building, an increasing number of grocery chains are renting space in retail malls. On the other hand, without proper planning with commercial spaces and essential institutions to distribute the traffic across the area, the problem of congestion could get worse. For example, if schools and shopping centres are placed next to each other, this will create a traffic jam between parents who pick up and drop off their children and those who go shopping during rush hours. In addition, following the zoning regulations will promote balance with the uses of essential services, such as pharmacies and hospitals, which to me is more reasonable. In conclusion, planners strategically separate commercial services and homes to reduce the rising problem of overpopulation and jams in traffic and to regulate the zoning areas. In my opinion, this outweighs the concern of citizens of having all services in one specific area in the metropolitan.