You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words. Nowadays, people in suburban areas are migrating to big cities, therefore the number of people in those places is falling-off. In my view, the drawbacks of this phenomenon are more significant and I will outline several reasons for this in more detail below. On one hand, moving to urban areas has some benefits such as access to better job opportunities, education and healthcare. However, an increase in cities ' population can pose a negative impact on urban resources, for instance, as more people move to big cities, the demand for housing increases rapidly. Therefore, this will lead to higher prices and a shortage of affordable housing, and as a result, citizens' lives will be negatively impacted. Another adverse effect of increasing urban migration that needs to be considered is the loss of traditional culture and heritage in rural areas. For example, traditional crafts and skills such as sewing, pottery, weaving, etc. are often passed down from generation to generation. Nevertheless, when youngsters move to cities and pursue other careers, there can be a loss of folk crafts and skills. As a consequence, many artisan crafts products which could play an important role in the country's tourism industry can never be found anymore. In conclusion, although urbanization is becoming more and more popular, in my point of view, I think it has a lot of detrimental impact on both the city resources and the rural areas heritage. Therefore, this trend has many drawbacks that are far outweigh the advantages and worth considering.