In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In the contemporary era, with the evolving social landscape, people’s perspectives on traffic issues have shown divergence. Therefore, the question of whether countries should spend a large budget to develop new railway lines for high-speed rail networks to connect cities, or enhance the current public transport has become a considerable debate. This essay will outline both viewpoints, and I believe that the improvement of existing public transport is more pivotal. On one hand, advocates of introducing new railway lines assert that the high-speed train offers people ready connections to different cities. This change shortens the distance of each city, making individuals save travel time. Moreover, due to many individuals across cities for work or study, this modern rail network provide an alternative option for those who need to commute. Even more importantly, the high-speed train is also an indispensable infrastructure in today’s society, as it can improve the increase of tourists, this, in turn, gaining the number of revenue for countries, which evidently is a correct investment. On the other hand, proponents of enhancing current public transport argue that there are numerous issues with present mass transit, such as inadequate route coverage, outdated carriages, and a lack of service time, all of which are pressing problems, as many commuters are impacted by these negative situations. Therefore, spending a large budget can immediately address these concerns and bring instant advantages for people. These improvements not only encourage commuters to choose public transportation but also reduce carbon emissions and alleviate traffic congestion. For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that while building new railways for fast trains leads to certain benefits, prioritizing the development of existing public transport is more essential for people, as it offers immediate feedback and improves the quality of living.