Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting culture. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Whether tourism acts as a threat to culture or a savior of traditional values is a highly debatable issue. Despite acknowledging that travel businesses can deteriorate historical sites, the writer is swayed by the financial benefits they offer. On the one hand, a massive influx of tourists is the chief culprit for cultural deterioration. This is because more and more visitors to a site are synonymous with an increasing amount of rubbish there. This not only does harm to the local profile but also is detrimental to the environment, especially to the surrounding animals’ habitat. Moreover, visitors are inclined to touch physical remains which is believed to bring about prosperity and luck. However, this action ruins the art of marvels as is shown in Son Doong cave in Vietnam, where plenty of stalagmites are broken by unscrupulous tourists. Thus, people put these places under threat because of their lack of awareness. On the other hand, the travel business is the main income for the local authorities. Thanks to the large amount of money invested by foreign people to manipulate the unique culture of an area, it provides the civilians with more job opportunities and funds to reinforce and restore historic sites. If it had not been for visitors’ help, a plethora of ancient buildings would have been abandoned or superseded by skyscrapers and towers. From the writer’s perspective, tourism plays a crucial role in advertising and bringing others’ cultures to people. In fact, many Youtubers and Tiktokers uploaded videos about their experience in a place that helps to boost local income. Also, with the arrival of the Internet, advertisements now are accessible to a wide range of people. That they always gravitate toward places with special features will guarantee the need for cultural sites. In conclusion, although tourism results in ruins among cultures, its financial advantage prevents them from degradation.