The increasing prevalence of convenience food will lead to traditional methods of cooking disappearing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that conventional modes of food preparation will disappear with the rise of pre-prepared meal boxes. This essay completely disagrees with the statement because it is costly to keep consuming this kind of eatables and the fact that they are extremely unhealthy. Readymade dishes come with a cost to consumers. Companies that provide these types of services levy different kinds of charges to serve their customers. There are preparation costs, service tax and handling fees. If ordered online, they even add delivery charges and platform fees. By the time it is served, the total price of the dish would be almost twice the actual amount. For example, Zomato marks up the prices of their items by applying restaurant tariffs, 10% delivery charges of the base amount, duties and INR 5 platform fees. In the end, the price is more than 100 times the original, even after discounts. Moreover, such kind of services normally cook their food early and store it in dark cold storage for preservation. This in turn makes it old and rotten. Instead of consuming freshly cooked food, people have these, resulting in ill health. Further, they are not cooked with proper proportions of ingredients which are suitable for digestion. Often, these would be extremely oily, and spicy and have plenty of sugar. As a result, there is almost no nutritional value left in the end. For instance,the consumption of packaged meat in Western countries like the USA, the UK and Canada has resulted in a significant spike in Cancer. In conclusion, ordering online edibles is a costly affair and if consumed regularly, poses a significant threat to the health of people. Hence, the idea that it will replace the orthodox style is flawed.