Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

It is true that family members are spending less time on having meals together. This happens because of several reasons, and I would argue that this is a negative trend. There are three reasons why nowadays family members spend less time at dinning table than that in the past. Firstly, due to fast- pace of life in the modern society, people have less time to share with their family. The adults go to work from the morning until the night, while it also takes children much time to study at school so spending time together becomes more difficult. Secondly, technology influences people on the duration of mealtime. The young tend to be addicted to the video games on tablets or computer and either passing the meal or eating snack instead of other food. Thirdly, this case happens because of the fast development of fast food service. Currently, many people tend to eat fast food or eat outside this make family members eat fewer meals together. This case can have many negative impacts on family members. Having fewer meals together can weaken the family’s bond. If family members eat together less, the interaction between them also dips, which worsen family’s relationships. It is the gradual distancing in relationships which can lead to the lack of sharing. When there is no time for family members to eat together, they will have fewer opportunities to share with each other about daily life stories about work, study, etc. Besides, family members eat together less often can lead to a lack of experience for children. During mealtimes, the older generation can pass on valuable experience to the younger generation. For example, parents can give their children advice on how to handle a situation based on their own life experiences. In conclusion, there are some clear reasons for this trend, and I believe that this trend can cause many bad effects on people.